Why I switched back from Ubuntu to Fedora

Haziran 22, 2009 at 1:55 PM (fedora, linux, ubuntu)

I’m a simple man (just like in the Lynyrd Skynyrd song). The reason I switched from Windows to Linux was a very simple one too: freedom. I had almost $30,000 worth of pirated software on my Windows machine (that’s the Windows way to use a computer, you see) and one day I thought to myself “There are people working hard to develop these software and whether I like it or not they are charging for it. If you don’t like that then don’t use them”. That’s how I swept my harddrive clean and went completely free software; cold turkey.

I used Ubuntu exclusively for about 3 years, before that I tried out Fedora, Mandriva, OpenSuSE and a couple of others. I liked Ubuntu and made a lot of people switched to it, too. But here I am, an Ubuntu enthusiast, using Fedora 11 now. And the reason is again simple: freedom.

There’s a lot of hype/war on the “Mono issue” lately but I don’t want to get into all that. My opinion is, yet again, simple: nothing related to Microsoft, please. Microsoft proved themselves to be evil every step of the way. They don’t like free software, they don’t like people using free software, they don’t like companies that bundle their hardware with free software. All of these can be fine until they start bribing judges, pressuring governments (governments for crying out loud!), blackmailing OEM’s, using their licenses against every single computer user they can. We have seen a couple of their trojan horses of licenses (just a quick look at http://www.groklaw.net/ would suffice) which means we cannot and more importantly should not trust anything coming from Microsoft.

Back to the original subject, if Ubuntu would only be providing softwares developed with Mono then I would be fine with that. But almost whenever there’s a thread about Mono on Ubuntuforums or an idea on Brainstorm and it’s going in a negative way, either the thread gets locked or deleted. Why is Ubuntu defending Mono? Shouldn’t Mono developers be the ones that should defend Mono? If they’re saying that “It’s totally up to the developers whether we will go with or without Mono” then fine, I would know that Ubuntu is no more a community driven distribution and I made the right call switching back to Fedora.

From now on I’m not using Ubuntu nor will I offer other people to use it. Fedora is even considering removing Mono let alone bundling the distro with Mono applications. Ubuntu is not the only newb-friendly distro out there. That’s the great thing about freedom, you see: I am free to choose.

12 Yorum

  1. Rahul Sundaram said,

    As the maintainer of Gnote in Fedora, I find it interesting that people are so emotional about this issue. I am curious to understand why. What do you find so bad about Mono that would choose to switch a distribution?

  2. jihedamine said,

    Thanks for this nice article. I too had the same path than you, I switched to Fedora not for the Mono issue in particular but the whole philosophy and the fact that Redhat and Fedora are more concerned about advancing Linux and taking the lead in implementing and testing new unproven technologies and contributing to upstream. The technologies used in Fedora 11 are planned to be included in the next Ubuntu and are sometimes designed or implemented by Fedora developers (plymouth, new gdm, ext4, nouveau driver…)
    Best regards.

  3. Igor said,

    Ubuntu will face the faith of Novell one day if they continue this path – being marginalized in usage, and total financial fiasco. But, who from the community will care about them then? Nobody. Community is the only 1st class citizen in FOSS world. If that changes, there will be only MS world in the end – nothing else. And community says: NO MONO!

  4. USA Ubuntu Uaser said,

    Well written piece. My thoughts exactly I hope Mark Shuttleworth, who till now has done a bang-up job with GNU/Linux and Canocial [sic] reads again what Ubuntu means…

    from Wikipedia
    “Archbishop Desmond Tutu further explained Ubuntu as follows (2008):
    “ One of the sayings in our country is Ubuntu – the essence of being human. Ubuntu speaks particularly about the fact that you can’t exist as a human being in isolation. It speaks about our interconnectedness. You can’t be human all by yourself, and when you have this quality – Ubuntu – you are known for your generosity.

    We think of ourselves far too frequently as just individuals, separated from one another, whereas you are connected and what you do affects the whole world. When you do well, it spreads out; it is for the whole of humanity.”

    If you look at the behavior of Microsoft under the surface (go to Groklaw for a fair minded review) they are the antithesis of Ubuntu. Mono should plan stay out, just like the non-Free codecs (like mp3). Yes I am serious looking at CentOS and Fedora now myself for this reason alone.

  5. kmf said,

    Freedom always wins!

  6. Neil Darlow said,

    Well done. I returned to Mandriva for the same reasons before the Mono storm happened. I figured that all the Mono applications I needed had suitable replacements as native KDE4 applications so I switched from GNOME to KDE at the same time. I don’t regret the move and, to be honest, I think Mandriva is a better distribution than Ubuntu.

  7. 111bits said,

    I like what you wrote and how you wrote it. It’s simple, straight-forward and to the point.

    I’ve been there myself too – all the way: from the Windows user using unlicensed software starting to think about principles, to the distro-choosing. And my choice was the same – for exactly the same simple reason. I’ve been a happy Fedora user ever since (for a couple of years now).

    Cheers! :-)

  8. jorge said,

    What are you talking about? What’s Mono? Does Ubuntu have Mono or not have Mono? Did you leave because of freedom or because of Mono. Your article makes no sense. Rewrite and repost please.

  9. Bernd said,

    I don’t like microsoft too. I hate their way fight against open source. But Apple is evil too.

    Back to mono/C#. C# is a standard by Ecma and ISO. And as a end-user and as an european I don’t care if there could be patent issues.

    But it is a fact that a lot of great software is written in mono. And often there is no better alternative to them. In my opinion there is no better Media-Player than Banshee. Rhythmbox isn’t evolving at the moment and stopped development so far as I know.
    Gnome-Do is great and I doesn’t know a better alternative.
    Mono allows a lot of .Net Developers to start working on good software for GNU/Linux.
    I would like to see developer writing software without mono that beats the existing mono software. But at the moment it looks like that mono is heavily used.

    Ubuntu Technical Board Meeting Protokoll (Mono discussion)
    https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/ubuntu-devel/2009-June/028347.html

  10. Bleuwinter said,

    Hmmm, it’s true what u mentioned above in your post. Ubuntu is supposed to be a community based distro, that’s what that they claim but if it can’t pass this test of freedom, then’s what’s the point? All of us know that Linux equals to freedom.

  11. BillyH said,

    So, the fragmented OSS community finally managed to rally around one Linux distro, only to become scattered again due to one little software project.

    Today it’s Microsoft, tomorrow it will be Apple or Google. Never freedom.

    • atomkarinca said,

      Well, it’s almost been a year since I wrote this post and nothing’s changed in the “good way”. So I’m gonna go with scattering.

      I loved using Ubuntu and I did from 5.10 to 8.04.1. What I hate is things being done despite the community.

      The community is not responsible for the scattering, Ubuntu is.

Bir Cevap Yazın

Takip Et

Her yeni yazı için posta kutunuza gönderim alın.