Good CLI Applications

Aralık 13, 2008 at 11:13 AM (linux)

This is just a reminder for myself. I’m trying to replace my programs with their command-line alternatives and so far it’s been great. I didn’t know there are that good apps that did everything their GUI-based alternatives can do. Just to name a few:

Web browser: Elinks – tab support, bookmarks.
File manager: Midnight Commander
Music player: MPD + Ncmpc++ – it has lyrics support and with Finferflu’s Jamendo script it gets an online music store🙂

Video player: Mplayer framebuffer (with “-vo fbdev” option)
Editor: Emacs (of course :))
IM: BitlBee – supports Jabber, ICQ, MSN and a couple of more I don’t use.
Torrent: rTorrent – can do everything you expect from a torrent client.
IRC: Irssi
Twitter: TwIrssi
Mail: Alpine – excellent Gmail support and that’s pretty much enough for me.
News/Pod Catcher: Newsbeuter.
FTP client: Midnight Commander, NcFTP – supports bookmarking.
System monitor: htop
Games: ninvaders, greed, moon-buggy, vitetris, typespeed
CD/DVD Burning: Bashburn
Image/PDF Viewer: fbi

I will update this every time I find a good one.

Bir Cevap Yazın

