Gutenberg + Calibre = Happiness

Eylül 6, 2009 at 10:40 PM (Blogroll) (, , , , )

I love reading. I love reading books, magazines, blog posts, forum entries, and anything that can be read. But for me there’s a shortcoming to this: I don’t have enough money to buy hundreds of books since I’m just a student. So I have found an amazing solution: Project Gutenberg and only the greatest e-book software, that is Calibre.

Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks.

When I say “free”, I mostly mean the books that have become a part of public domain through time. The wonderful thing about this is the best books written to date mostly belong to the public domain. Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Immanuel Kant, Leo Tolstoy, Maksim Gorky, Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche, and many more great writers are just a click away from you now. My personal favorite lately is Sir Conan Doyle and the infamous Sherlock Holmes series. You can download over 50 books of him.

calibre is a one stop solution to all your e-book needs. It is free, open source and cross-platform in design and works well on Linux, OS X and Windows. calibre is meant to be a complete e-library solution and thus includes library management, format conversion, news feeds to ebook conversion, as well as e-book reader sync features and an integrated e-book viewer.

Calibre has a very nice interface, the viewer is simply amazing and you can convert your pdf files to -for example- .epub format and read your e-books with ease. Calibre remembers where you left and auto-scrolls to that page on the next run.

All in all I’m having great time with these and I’m sure a lot of people out there would be happy to know about this. Thanks to all people who puts even the slightest effort in keeping amazing works, such as these, going.

5 Yorum

  1. free project viewer said,

    Great blog you have. Lots of interesting content.. Keep-up a good work !!

  2. Maarten Frans Julia Coertjens said,

    Did you download them one by one? I am trying to import the gutenberg DVD into calibre to have the whole gutenberg library but all the files come out without title nor author, just a number😦
    Any suggestions?🙂

    And I agree gutenberg+calibre should be happyness but has been frustration.

    • atomkarinca said,

      I did add the books one by one. Which formats are your books in? Maybe that’s the problem. Mine are in .epub format.

  3. bestelkado-gadgethouse-1 said,

    Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers! Fantastic blog and great design.

Bir Cevap Yazın

