Canon MP190 on Arch Linux

Ekim 16, 2009 at 11:27 PM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

I recently bought a Canon PIXMA MP190 and it’s working without a glitch.

Prior to buying I did a little research, of course. On Open Printing Database, there was just one comment and it suggested that the printer is working perfectly. Because the printer was like $50, I thought “What the hey, it’s worth a shot”. I followed the wiki and got the printer working in 5 minutes with these steps:

  • Installed CUPS
  • Installed the driver (cups-canon-3.00 from the AUR)
  • Added the module (modprobe usblp) and the daemon (/etc/rc.d/cups start) to the rc.conf

After these 3 quick steps, I was printing (from e.g. OpenOffice.org), scanning (through XSane) and photo-copying. All in all, I’m very happy with the printer. It’s easy to install and use. I can recommend MP190 to anyone looking for a cheap and all-in-one printer.

4 Yorum

  1. tohpati tech said,

    nice informations and great articles. thanks for sharing. very appreciate

  2. atomkarinca said,

    The pleasure is mine🙂

  3. vinkens said,

    thank u
    help me a lot.

  4. atomkarinca said,

    @vinkens, glad I could help.

Bir Cevap Yazın

