Gnash Has Come a Long Way

Ekim 25, 2009 at 10:24 AM (Uncategorized) (, , , )

Gnash is a F/LOSS replacement for Adobe’s infamous Flash plugin. I’ve been following the development of Gnash for some time now and I must say, with every new release it’s becoming more and more a good alternative for Flash.

The new version (0.8.6) hit the Arch Linux repos today and I was eager to try it out. First I removed the Flash plugin and then installed Gnash:

pacman -R flashplugin

pacman -S gnash-gtk

Since Gnash supports most of the stuff other than videos very well, the next step for me was to test a couple of video sharing sites. Youtube works well and so does Google Videos, Blip.tv and Mojoflix. However Vimeo doesn’t work, since I use it a lot that’s a bummer for me (and if I’m not mistaken, it used to work but I think the Vimeo guys changed something with the player). Grooveshark doesn’t work, either. There are a lot of websites out there using Flash but the ones I use are limited with these, so I’ll leave the rest to other users.

All in all, Gnash is certainly getting better with every release and I think, in a very near future, people will start seriously using it. Me? I have already ditched the Flash plugin. Sure I won’t be able to view a couple of videos on BlenderNation but I will be using Free Software.

Great job Gnash developers and I surely appreciate the hard work you’ve been putting on.

Bir Cevap Yazın

